The Never Beyond campaign over at People of the Second Chance has me thinking this week about who I used to be, what I had, what I have lost, and who I am now.

The example depicted on this week’s poster is Mike Tyson; obviously, my life has not been as extreme as his, but I can relate to his troubles – and even to some of his triumphs.  It’s kind of a crazy feeling for an almost-40-year-old white woman to feel that she has anything in common with the nearly-50-year-old black prizefighter, but there you go, and here we are.Mike Tyson is POTSC!There are times when I feel like a complete and utter failure.  I’m closer to 40 now than I’ll ever be to 30 again, in my third semester of my first go ’round with college, living at home with mom because my job doesn’t pay well enough for me to support myself on my own.  Some days, when I let the enemy creep in and tell me how worthless I am, I feel like Beck’s “Loser” should play as my theme song everywhere I go.

The reality, though, is that the choices I made when I was younger actually created the life I am living right now.  All of those mistakes I made – all the lies I told, all of the people I hurt, and all of the drugs with which I abused my body and mind — ALL of that brought me right here, right now.

And just where is here, you might be asking?

Here is a pretty good life, if I do say so myself.  I’m closer now to my mom and my sister than ever before – they truly are my best friends and the people who understand me best.  I am also taking classes toward a degree in Journalism, which will (hopefully!!) one day assist me in making money with my passion, and on top of all of that, as if that’s not enough, my beautiful daughter is living with me after over a decade of time spent apart!

I, like Mike Tyson, am blessed with an opportunity to live out a second chance.  I, like Mike Tyson, am taking FULL advantage of this opportunity.  How do I know with such certainty that Tyson is wholly deserving of a second chance?  Because the very day that the Tyson poster in the POTSC campaign was revealed, Tyson tweeted on his Twitter account about second chances.  It was a beautiful thing to see!

So many times we view another – or ourselves! – as washed-up, washed-out, or just altogether irrelevant because of the horrible stewards of life they (we) have been in life.  It’s incredible to think that just as God looked at me and saw His beloved child, Angela, worthy of love and grace and redemption and second chances…so does He look at His beloved child, Mike, and see exactly the same things.

As much as I love each and every one of you and as much as I adore seeing your feedback and comments on my blog and my Facebook page, would you guys instead (or also, if you wish) just click here to visit Mike Tyson’s Twitter page and leave him some love and encouragement?

