Nothing extraordinary happened today, but it was a very good day.

I had both Meghan and my niece Lizzy here with me today.  I got up this morning, made breakfast for the girls, and then we went grocery shopping.

We came home…the girls helped unload groceries, and then I put them away.  Afterward, they cleaned up the breakfast dishes and then did their own things for a little while.

A little later, Meghan got on my laptop to re-do her half-length diagnostic test for the GED – she’s been working hard for the last three weeks, and I wanted to see what, if any, progress was being made.

Out of five sections – Reading, Writing, Social Studies, Science, and Math – she dramatically improved her initial scores in three of them.  One stayed exactly the same, and one dropped a few points.

For a child that has struggled so very much in all aspects of academia, this is pretty impressive, after only three weeks!  I am so proud of her, for all the hard work she’s done.  It hasn’t all been easy and it won’t all be easy, but she is trying.

I am watching her grow stronger and stronger every day and it makes me so happy.  We still have a long way to go, and not everything is peachy-perfect, by any stretch, but we are getting there.

Today was a good day.

