I found out today that I am definitely going to be able to attend Catalyst this October in Atlanta.  I wasn’t sure if finances were going to allow for it, as I won’t have any money until later in the year.  Luckily for me, my mother loves me and agreed to front me the money for my Catalyst ticket.  I am so blessed!

What is Catalyst, you ask?  Well, Merriam Webster defines “catalyst” as “an agent that provokes or speeds significant change or action.”   That is exactly what Catalyst the conference does.  It is a three-day love-and-leadership fest among 13,000 young, open-minded, innovative Christians from around the country.  There are amazing speakers over the second and third day, such as:

  • Andy Stanley, Pastor of North Point Community Church
  • Dave Ramsey, Author, Radio and TV Host
  • Francis Chan, Author of Crazy Love
  • Joel Houston, of Hillsong
  • Blake Mycoskie, Founder, TOMS Shoes

Additionally, on the first day, there are Labs.  The Labs have even more phenomenal speakers, including:

  • Margaret Feinberg, Author, Scouting the Divine (which she gave free copies of to everyone in attendance at Catalyst ’09)
  • Jon Acuff, Author and writer of the blog, Stuff Christians Like
  • Lecrae Moore, Hip-hop artist and founder of LifeReach Ministries
  • Mike Foster, Co-founder of People of the Second Chance

It’s not all just motivational speakers, though.  There is absolutely nothing boring or staid about Catalyst.  There are periods of worship that would move and inspire the hardest heart you’ve ever known.  There is humor and excitement and personal stories shared by real people in real ways.

There are also vendors galore, with interesting products and services available – and they aren’t afraid of giving away freebies!

Catalyst is October 5-7, 2011, at Gwinnett Center Arena in Lawrenceville, GA.  If you are planning to go, let me know!  Maybe we can meet up there!

